Back to top

 CMS has created a set of analytical files that contain data from the Medicare Shared Saving Program. There are two separate files in this data set:

  • The Shared Savings Program Beneficiary-Level Research Identifiable File (RIF)
  • The Shared Savings Program Provider-Level RIF

What does this file include? (variable highlights)

  • ACO name and start date
  • National Provider Identifier (NPI)/name
  • Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN)/name
  • CMS Certification Number (CCN)
  • facility type - institutions
  • practice type (specialty) - individuals
  • county primarily serviced

Special considerations

  • Shared Savings Program RIFs do not include Pioneer ACO, Next Generation ACO or Comprehensive End Stage Renal Disease Care (CEC) data.
  • All technical questions related to the Shared Savings Program should be directed to the ACO Information Center, including monthly Claim and Claim Line Feed (CCLF) files, Managed File Transfer, and the Shared Savings Program ACO Portal.  Please redirect your question to or by calling 1-888-734-6563 (select option 2); TTY/TDD 888-734-6563.
Privacy Level
Research Identifiable Files